First Day in US???

Posted on April 11, 2009. Filed under: F1 Visa, Prospective Students |

 

I still remember the first day when I landed in US for my MS. I was totally confused as to what all things I needed to get done before I start off with my quarter.

 

I hope the below lists gives you an idea of what are the utmost important things that you need to get done when you land for the first time.

 

1)    Get your SSN ( Social Security Number, its utmost important to apply incase you want to work on-campus)

2)    Opening a Bank Account.

3)    Medical Insurance ( either university gets it for you or you need to look on your own, it’s a must)

4)    Driving License ( You need to go through a written test and then a drive test)

5)    Get a Cell phone (Optional, but would recommend getting one).

6)    Get a Laptop (Optional, but highly recommended, worth buying once). I got my laptop in my second quarter as it became very difficult to do all assignments on the department computer.

7)    Start Looking for an on-campus job. ( these include RA, TA, grading jobs, note taking for students who are deaf and dumb, etc)

8)    Most of the students don’t get the university apartment immediately after they land. So, look for apartment.

9)    Pay your tuition fees for the first quarter.

10) Most important thing is just enjoy the complete process, talk to professors, make friends and have a fun time.

 

I would highly recommend talking to and being in touch with the International Student Office people to know more about things around. 

GOOD LUCK!!! Let me know if you have any questions and I will try my best to answer it. :)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “First Day in US???”

RSS Feed for F1toH1 Blog Comments RSS Feed

nice one


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Information from F1 to H1 (GRE,GMAT, TOEFL,Universities, College Life,Jobs, and tons of facts, rumors, etc)

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

