About to Finish Master’s, but planning to apply for H1B???

Posted on April 14, 2009. Filed under: F1 Visa, H1B | Tags: , , , , |

Q) I am currently pursuing my Masters this year and would be completing it by end of this year( i.e 2009)?? I do plan to apply for my H1B this year. My question is will I be considered in Master’s quota?? One of my friends suggested me that I could apply with a letter from University stating about my completion of masters by end of this year. Will this work??

 

My Answer: Unless you have a degree in hand or at least the completion certificate,  you really can’t be eligible under Masters Quota. However, you can always apply under regular quota with whatever master’s documents you have, and get an approval. USCIS may ask for OPT card or some confirmation on your degree completion before they approve your H1B under regular quota. During my time, I applied in my last semester and still got H1B approved with out any query. Can you believe it????

 

I really suggest you to go ahead and apply for your H1b right away and get an approval.  I am sure you can get one soon. Try sending all your Masters till date transcripts with a  letter from school stating your latest status on how many subjects are left towards your Masters completion.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Good Luck!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “About to Finish Master’s, but planning to apply for H1B???”

RSS Feed for F1toH1 Blog Comments RSS Feed

HI, I have completed My MBA from Delaware. I did MBA (General). I have worked with media companies in India for 7 years. In Jan-09 to Mar-09. No any consultant is putting a file for H1b and i am also not knowing so many consultant. Right now i am on an OPT status and it is going to be start from june-09. Can you suggest me any consultant or employer who is still hiring? or a list of h1b consultant from USA? Is any consultant hire if the person is without IT experience ?
waiting for your early and positive reply.

Hardik,

At this time, I am not quite sure about companies still sponsoring H1B’s in
spite of its availability. I have few suggestions for you at this point of
time,

1. See if you can push your OPT date to August 1st by using those 60 days
grace period.
2. If this August date works out by next year April 1st make sure to apply
your H1B through some employer (I can suggest some)
3. If its definitely next year, you would need to enroll in some college for
at least 2 months ,worst case might be 4 months (if you have already used
your 60 days grace period before your OPT date).
4. This year as its strict outside in terms of H1B application processing, I
am not quite sure if there is any employer who can sponsor but as I said I
will suggest you some for next year.
5. As you know US market is dominated by Software jobs, its not that easy
for other occupations H1B Sponsorships unless some big companies directly
hire your. So I suggest you to get training in some MBA related IT area
(Business Analyst, Project Management, Change Management, Release Management
etc) skills. Only then I can see sponsorships coming in your favor.

For more details, please contact me at techtalisman@gmail.com

BEST OF LUCK.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Information from F1 to H1 (GRE,GMAT, TOEFL,Universities, College Life,Jobs, and tons of facts, rumors, etc)

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

